logo test - Itihaas - Edinburgh
Itihaas Reviews Testimonials

What some of our visitors have to say about us. Please leave us a review.

Iain Laing
Iain Laing
2023-11-18
Very attentive staff. Food was cooked to perfection and very tasty. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit
Melina P
Melina P
2023-11-18
Really nice food with great vegetarian options. Good portion sizes too.
MJ van de Lagemaat
MJ van de Lagemaat
2023-11-17
Had a delicious dinner with great service.
Alex Deas
Alex Deas
2023-11-16
Great food. Excellent service. Amazed it was not booked full as this restaurant is the best Indian in the East of Scotland.
Sara L
Sara L
2023-11-16
We love Itihaas! My husband and I travel frequently- across Europe, to America and further beyond. This is one of our very favourite restaurants. We come often and have never been disappointed. My husband is strict vegetarian and loves the choices on the menu. His favourite is the achari baingain! The staff are lovely - friendly, attentive and give excellent recommendations. If something we want is not in the menu, they will make it for us. My husband loves the lassi with toasted cumin (which is not on the menu, but always made special for him!)The owner, Matin always takes the time to chat with us and check we are happy. A special thanks to Syed, Dipu and Nicky and their newest waitress Muskan. Huge thank you to all. We love it here and it is always an extra special night out. We cannot recommend it highly enough! xx
Marie Castillo-Macasojot
Marie Castillo-Macasojot
2023-11-16
the place is cozy and love the food. Staff are nice too.
logo test - Itihaas - Edinburgh

Enjoy your time in our restaurant with pleasure.

Tripadvisor

We have been awarded the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 5 years in a row and have now achieved Hall of Fame status! Awarded only to the Top 10% of Worldwide restaurants that deliver consistently great service and earned great reviews.

Robert C
Robert C
2023-11-02
Verified
Service above and beyond... A friend of invited mine invited me to lunch at this restaurant. It was quite a distance from my home and there were plenty of other curry restaurants much nearer and I hoped it was worth the journey. The lunch cost £12.95 for two course and £13.95 for three courses. The number of starters to choose from was good with a choice of about six. The main menu was quite lengthy for a lunch time menu and nearly everyone would find something to their liking. I had chicken cutlets as a starter and chicken Jalfrezi excellent by the main course, Jalfrezi, really hit the spot. However, I wish to comment on the service. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive. When I was leaving I first used the facilities and did not return to the table. When I was walking up the street, quite a distance from the restaurant the gentleman who had served me came running after me, in his shirt sleeves, in the pouring rain! I had left my mobile phone on the table! Now that is what I call service above and beyond the call of normal service.
Helen E
Helen E
2023-11-01
Verified
Excellent Restaurant Food and service was excellent as always. Would be my first choice for lunch in Dalkeith. Will be back again soon!
Sandra M
Sandra M
2023-10-10
Verified
Always an excellent meal Have eaten here a few times over the last couple of months and have been meaning to do a review. Food is excellent. Always freshly cooked and piping hot. We either have lamb or chicken dishes and the meat is always tender and juicy, never dry or fatty. Staff are excellent. Always friendly, professional and attentive. Would definitely recommend.
Janice G
Janice G
2023-10-05
Verified
Fantastic meal Lovely welcoming, professional , efficient staff. Clean, lovely decor. Meal excellent. Would definitely recommend
Moira W
Moira W
2023-09-28
Verified
Lovely surprise Just spotted this place on our way out of Morrison is Dalkeith. What a lovely surprise, food was very good and freshly cooked. Service prompt and helpful. If we are that away again will surely revisit.
Soulsister
Soulsister
2023-09-27
Verified
Very tasty! Very tasty. We had sag paneer and aloo bhindi as mains with veg pakora starter and pappadoms with pickles. I asked for garlic rice and they accommodated us. It was probably the best garlic rice I’ve had. Having eaten in restaurants in both Pakistan and India, as well as over the uk, I’m a bit fussy with my ‘curry’s’. I was pleasantly surprised as I’d never heard of the place and it was a friends recommendation. I’m sure il be back. Friendly waiting staff and gentle background music. If anything, I’d have preferred it slightly darker but that’s just me. Prices very reasonable for quality of food. 5 stars from me!
shann0nk717
shann0nk717
2023-09-21
Verified
Great dinner stop! Really enjoyed our meal tonight, chicken and lamb dishes were beautifully cooked and food was all fresh. Very friendly staff too top it all off will definitely return
 by Christine Green

My husband and I went for lunch today. The price advertised on website was £8.95 for a 2 course lunch was £12.95, bit of a difference from price on website which is obviously false advertising and needs to be amended.

The food was nice enough tho not a huge portion..

 by Martin Waugh

Simply outstanding food. One of the best curries I’ve ever had and I’ve had a few. Great service also. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

 by shelley

Booked a meal tonight for my family a roll the dice choice and I have to say very happy with our experience! Food was absolutely fantastic and staff were very attentive and funny.. very pleasant experience and will definitely return!

 by John Gillespie

Excellent meal, great service in very comfortable surroundings. Thank you

Opening Hours
Monday – Thursday || 12pm-2pm || 5pm-10:30pm
Friday – Sunday || 12pm-2pm || 4:30pm-10:30pm
Closed Tuesday
Make a Reservation

Indian Restaurant Edinburgh

17-19 Eskbank Road, Dalkeith, EH22 1HD | 0131 663 9800

Monday – Thursday || 12pm-2pm || 5pm-10:30pm
Friday – Sunday || 12pm-2pm || 4:30pm-10:30pm
Closed Tuesday

17-19 Eskbank Road, Dalkieth, EH22 1HD
0131 663 9800

Monday – Thursday || 12pm-2pm || 5pm-10:30pm
Friday – Sunday || 12pm-2pm || 4:30pm-10:30pm
Closed Tuesday

swipe left

EAT

swipe left or right

VISIT

swipe left or right

story

swipe right

Established in 1997

Proud to serve our community

Sign up for Itihaas Newsletter

Gift Card Form